Towns of Moore County
Originally known as Tuftstown, Pinehurst was established in 1895 when Boston philanthropist James Tufts purchased 5,800 acres of timberland in central North Carolina. Tufts was intrigued by the area’s mild climate, and he envisioned a health resort and walking village for Northerners. He commissioned Frederick Law Olmsted, designer of New York’s Central Park, to lay out the village and its streets. During the early 1900s, the resort included 4 hotels, 50+ cottages, several lovely golf courses and a large shooting preserve. Donald Ross refined the original dream and established what became Pinehurst #2 and host to numerous and legendary tournaments spanning two centuries.
In 1896, the Holly Inn opened, and the area had 20 cottages, a general store and a dairy. Some hotel guests introduced the game of golf -without benefit of a course – and in 1898, a rudimentary nine-hole course was constructed. By 1901, Tufts had opened what is now the Pinehurst Resort complete with riding, hunting, polo, lawn bowling, bicycling, tennis and archery. The same year, Tufts hired Donald Ross, the “father of modem golf architecture,” to oversee golf operations. The acclaimed Pinehurst No. 2 course, one of many he designed or redesigned, is ranked as one of the best in the world. By 1903, Pinehurst was becoming a major national golf center.
In another colorful chapter of Pinehurst history, Annie Oakley, sharpshooter and star of the Buffalo Bill Wild West Show, arrived in 1916. She stayed for four years to give shooting exhibitions and instruction at the Pinehurst Gun Club.
Today, Pinehurst is a delightful community of about 6,700. Together with its neighboring towns Southern Pines and Aberdeen, it makes up thesandhills of Moore County, an area steeped in golf tradition, Southern hospitality and historic
Established around a vital crossroad, the town was nourishing in the late 1700s. A hub ofactivity. Aberdeen hosted two railroads with turpentine and lumber being the center of commerce. Today, the historic district of encompasses more than 88 acres, over 100 buildings, numerous antique shops, collectibles and artist galleries.
Incorporated in 1876, Cameron was once known as “The World´s Largest Dewberry Market.” The town grew into a busy shipping point for area farmers, because of the railroad. There was a direct link from the carriage factory in Carthage to the main railline in Cameron. Today Cameron is known throughout the South for its historic buildings and unmatched antique market.
The County Seat Since 1803, was once name Faginsville until the matter was settled in 1818. The building now stading in Courthouse Square was erected in 1922 and is the fifth courthouse to be built on this site. Celebrate the heritage at the Buggy Festival each May. The historic “Victorian Ladies” line the streets downtown.
FOXFIRE, SEVEN LAKES, AND WEST END
Foxfire, Seven Lakes and West End are quiet communities just north of Pinehurst. Each having its own unique history and community, these towns all host beautiful golf courses. These communities provide the relaxing atmosphere of country lanes and lakes, but are just minutes from the area´s centers of activity.
Scenic as a New England Village. Like Southern Pines and Pinehurst, Pinebluff was also establihsed in hopes of repeating the popularity of a health resort. John T. Patrick bought the land from Luther Speare in 1884. He named the streets after prominent Northern cities, and advertised in prominent Northern newspapers, citing the community’s mild, sunny winter climate and pine-scented air. Today, Pinebluff is affordability at it’s most enjoyable, and Pinebluff Lake is at the heart of it all!
Rolling hills provide the backdrop for the towns of Robbins and High Falls. At the northern edge of Moore County, it is here that you can find pottery shops that allow you to visit an earlier era. The clay soil provides for the artists as they continue to shape their unique and beautiful creations.
Charles Shaw saw opportunity in the southern part of the county and acquired a state land grant. A health resort and ra~lroad from the north ensured Southern Pines’ longevity and fame. During World War I we played host to family, friends, doctors and trainees. There are still several homes in town bearing the marks of the impromptu hospitals and recovery centers. James Boyd brought the equestrian and literary pursuits that prevail today in this lush part of the county.
Originally developed in the early 1900’s by Demus Taylor to house the workforce of the Pinehursts’ hotels, Taylortown was unincorporated until 1987. First known as Old Settlement, the town was later renamed in Taylor’s honor. His son, Robert Taylor owned a cafe that was known as the local gathering spot, and help found a school for the settlement’s children. A strong sense of community reflects the town’s personality and history.
Between Cameron and Southern Pines lies the charming town of Vass. Also known for antiques and unique shops, Vass is a community set among horse farms. Founded primarily by Scots, Vass came into its own after the Seaboard Air Line Railroad came through town. The railroad made Vass one of the heaviest shipping points for lumber, cotton products and farm produce. The local newspaper, The Pilot, also orignated there.
Founded by Nicholas Smith in 1769, his mill was used to grind corn for rations during the American Revolution. The town remained a sleepy mill and power plant until1959 when A.B. Hardee began a goif and residential development. Today, it includes six lakes several golf courses.